Epidemic in South Africa


Free State Province in the Bultfontein area
Tue, 27/04/2010

At the beginning of February 2010 Rift valley fever was detected in the Free State Province in the Bultfontein area. Since then outbreaks have been detected in in 6 other provinces:
The rest of the Free State Province
The Middelburg- and Cradock areas of the Eastern Cape Province
The Van Wyksvlei, Britstown, and Colesberg areas of the Northern Cape Province
The Babsfontein area of Gauteng
The Potchefstroom area of the North West Province
The Balfour area of the Mpumalanga Province.

To date there have been 92 human cases and 6 deaths (68 from the Free State Province, 11 from the Northern Cape Province, 7 from the Eastern Cape Province and 1 from the North West Province with 4 deaths from the Free State Province and 2 deaths from the Northern Cape Province.

Source: GlideNumber


Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.