The European Environment Agency (EEA)

The European Environment Agency (EEA) is an agency of the European Union, with the task to provide sound, independent information on the environment. EEA is a major information source for those involved in developing, adopting, implementing and evaluating environmental policy, and also the general public. Currently, the EEA has 33 member countries. The regulation establishing the EEA was adopted by the European Union in 1990 and came into force in late 1993.

Main clients are the European Union institutions — the European Commission, the European Parliament, the Council — and the member countries. In addition to this central group of European policy actors, EEA also serves other EU institutions such as the Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions.

EEA's mandate is:

  • To help the Community and member countries make informed decisions about improving the environment, integrating environmental considerations into economic policies and moving towards sustainability
  • To coordinate the European environment information and observation network (Eionet)